Home Help Search Save to List My Account
Book Jacket


The trick : a novel / Emanuel Bergmann.

Author Bergmann, Emanuel, 1972- author.

Abstract:"Sweeping between Prague during World War II and modern day Los Angeles, this deeply moving debut follows a young Jewish man in 1934 who falls in love and joins the circus as the country descends into war. Decades later, a young boy seeks out the now cynical, elderly magician in the hopes that his spells might keep his family together. Prague, 1934: The fifteen-year-old rabbi's son Moshe Goldenhirsch marvels at the legendary circus magician known as the Half-Moon Man. Unexpectedly, he falls madly in love with the magician's delightful assistant, spurring him to run away from home to join the circus, which is slowly making its way to Germany as war looms on the horizon. Soon, he becomes a world-renowned magician known as the Great Zabbatini, even sought after by Adolf Hitler. But when Moshe is discovered to be a Jew, only his special talent can save him from perishing in a concentration camp. Los Angeles, 2007: Ten-year-old Max Cohn is convinced that magic can bring his estranged parents back together before they divorce. So one night he climbs out of his bedroom window in search of the Great Zabbatini, certain this powerful magician has the power to reunite his family. Perfect for fans of All the Light We Cannot See and The Nightingale, this radiant historical novel is both a deeply moving story of a small boy who believes in everything and an old man who believes in nothing--as well as a gripping and heartfelt tale about the beauty and fragility of life"-- Provided by publisher.

Book Review Table of Contents Fiction Chapter Summary


This item has been checked out 3 time(s)
and currently has 0 hold request(s).

Related Searches
Author
Bergmann, Emanuel, 1972- author.
Subject: Topical Term
Magicians -- Fiction.
Boys -- Fiction.
FICTION / Historical.
FICTION / Literary.
FICTION / General.